Node types
  • 22 Oct 2021
  • 1 Minute to read
  • Dark

Node types

  • Dark

For Enterprise Ethereum, SettleMint provides support for the Hyperledger Besu client. This means that when you add an Enterprise Ethereum node, you get a Besu node by default.

You can choose between 2 types of node:

Validator node
A validator node is a node that actively participates in the consensus mechanism of the network. It validates the correctness of transactions and creates new blocks. A validator node is a full node, meaning it holds a complete copy of the current state of the blockchain ledger.

Non-validator node
A non-validator node is node that does not actively participate in the consensus mechanism of the network. A non-validator node is also a full node.

SettleMint uses the IBFT (Istanbul Byzantine Fault Tolerant) 2.0 consensus mechanism for Enterprise Ethereum networks. Byzantine fault tolerance is the ability for the network to function correctly and reach consensus, despite nodes failing or propagating incorrect information to peers.


You need at least 4 validator nodes for your blockchain network to be Byzantine Fault Tolerant and continue operating if 1 validator node fails.

Learn here how to interact with your Enterprise Ethereum node.

Was this article helpful?

What's Next